Roll Call: Latest News on Capitol Hill, Congress, Politics and Elections
February 8, 2016

Unemployment Extension: How Did Your Senator Vote?

Updated 8:18 p.m. | The Senate next week will consider giving final approval to an unemployment benefits extension, thanks to a procedural vote Thursday.

Given the wide national interest in this story,  we’re posting the full tally sheet and a breakdown of the bipartisan 65-34 vote to end a filibuster against bringing the legislation up for debate.

The vote came 89 days after benefits expired late last year. Supporters of the bill said that as of today, 2.24 million Americans have been cut off.

There are more hurdles to clear before the Senate can pass the bill, not to mention a wide disparity with House Republicans leadership that leaves it an open question whether the legislation would ever reach President Barack Obama’s desk.

Screen Shot 2014-03-29 at 9.42.18 AMScreen Shot 2014-03-29 at 9.41.48 AM

Every Democrat and the two independents who caucus with Democrats voted to advance the bill, while Republicans split. Here’s the breakdown on the GOP side:

Republicans voting to advance the bill:

Kelly Ayotte of New Hampshire

Dan Coats of Indiana

Susan Collins of Maine

Bob Corker of Tennessee

Dean Heller of Nevada

Ron Johnson of Wisconsin

Mark S. Kirk of Illinois

Lisa Murkowski of Alaska

Rob Portman of Ohio

Patrick J. Toomey of Pennsylvania

(Updated: Coats, Corker, Johnson, Kirk, Portman and Toomey had voted to filibuster an extension in February, when an earlier measure came a single vote shy of ending a GOP filibuster.)

Republicans voting against advancing the bill:

Lamar Alexander of Tennessee

John Barrasso of Wyoming

Roy Blunt of Missouri

John Boozman of Arkansas

Richard M. Burr of North Carolina

Saxby Chambliss of Georgia

Tom Coburn of Oklahoma

Thad Cochran of Mississippi

John Cornyn of Texas

Michael D. Crapo of Idaho

Ted Cruz of Texas

Michael B. Enzi of Wyoming

Deb Fischer of Nebraska

Jeff Flake of Arizona

Lindsey Graham of South Carolina

Charles E. Grassley of Iowa

Orrin G. Hatch of Utah

John Hoeven of North Dakota

James M. Inhofe of Oklahoma

Johnny Isakson of Georgia

Mike Johanns of Nebraska

Mike Lee of Utah

John McCain of Arizona

Mitch McConnell of Kentucky

Rand Paul of Kentucky

Jim Risch of Idaho

Pat Roberts of Kansas

Marco Rubio of Florida

Tim Scott of South Carolina

Jeff Sessions of Alabama

Richard C. Shelby of Alabama

John Thune of South Dakota

David Vitter of Louisiana

Roger Wicker of Mississippi

Republican Jerry Moran of Kansas did not vote. (He also did not vote during the key February unemployment vote.)

Follow our extensive coverage of the unemployment insurance extension proposals:

Unemployment Extension Vote Not Worrying House Republicans

Boehner Still Cool to Senate Unemployment Extension Bill

Unemployment Extension Fight Pits Portman Against Boehner

Doctors Win, Jobless Lose: The GOP Confronts New Perception Problem

Comments (0)

No comments just yet.

Sign In

Forgot password?



Receive daily coverage of the people, politics and personality of Capitol Hill.

Subscription | Free Trial

Logging you in. One moment, please...